Chapter 147. Hall of Mirrors.

Thorgeir and Kari stared at Hall, who was wearing a billowing black cape that almost, but not entirely, obscured the ninja suit and the giant axe on his belt.

“I come in peace!” called Hall cheerfully.

“Odd choice of outfit.”

“Si vis pacem.”

Taking that at face value, Thorgeir and Kari helped Hall off his horse, both planting a wet smack on opposite cheeks. They let him to the seat of honour, sat on either side, and proceeded to talk about the weather for several hours, ending only when all three fell mercifully asleep from sheer boredom.

The next morning, Hall finally broached the subject at hand.

“Any chance you’ll accept a settlement, Thorgeir? I am authorized to offer full amnesty for the recent killings, and an equal share of blood-money for Njal’s family.”

Thorgeir crossed his arms. “I already told you no.”

“You were still angry at the time, and you wanted revenge,” said Hall. “I understand. But now you’ve had plenty of revenge. Enough, perhaps? Not for Kari, but maybe for you?”

“Maybe,” said Thorgeir, and thought for a moment. “But as you say, Kari’s not going to accept it, and I don’t want to leave him alone.”

“I think you should,” said Kari suddenly.

“Pardon?” Thorgeir spun round.

“You’ve done everything an honourable man should. Court case, blood vengeance, and all that’s left is a peaceful settlement. I don’t want this to ruin the rest of your life.”

“Well, when you put it that way…” Thorgeir teetered. “Will you accept the deal, then?”

“No.”

“I thought -”

“They killed my son, Thorgeir. Understand? I don’t have a life to go back to.”

“You have a wife, and multiple daughters.”

“Details,” said Kari impatiently. “Please, Thorgeir.”

“If you insist.”

“I do.”

Thorgeir turned back to Hall. “Very well, then. I give my word that I won’t attack any of them until the peace meeting.”

“And I give their word for the same thing,” nodded Hall, and everyone relaxed just a little.

“Have a scarlet cloak and a bracelet,” said Thorgeir, producing said objects, and never to be outdone, Kari pulled out a silver necklace of golden crosses. Accepting the gifts and the numerous strings attached to them, Hall rode back to Flosi in triumph.


“Kari made him do it?” Flosi shook his head in disbelief.

“Absolutely insisted on it,” confirmed Hall.

“I wish I was more like Kari,” said Flosi, impressed.

“You are aggravatingly like him,” said Hall. “Or he’s like you. Either way, it’s hard on the rest of us.”


“So it’s all settled, then,” said Thorgeir, packing up his calculator. “Now for the footnotes. For one, Kari can live with me as long and frequently as he wants. My house is a neutral zone in all Kari-related matters.”

“Agreed.” Flosi inclined his head, aiming for just the right angle – manful acceptance, without full capitulation.*

“And I don’t want a logic puzzle. We just worked out the total, so Flosi, kindly figure out who owes what, collect it, and hand it over in a lump sum.”

“Can do.”

“And you guys are still going to Norway or Greenland or Constantinople or wherever.”

“Already bought the tickets.”

It was a tense handshake, but neither man was actively trying to hurt the other, so Hall counted it a success.

“And you’re going to do it, right?” he asked, on the trip home. Best to double-check.

“Absolutely.” Flosi didn’t waver.

“That’s my boy,” said Hall. “Take a trip to Rome and say hi to the Pope for me, will you?”

“I’ll do my best.”

“Keep doing your best, and you might even get a redemption arc.” Hall clapped him on the shoulder and rode off, well pleased with the whole business.


* About 17.5°.

Leave a comment